Kale Sharp Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/ Mon, 23 Oct 2017 22:04:10 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sat, Oct 21, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-21-2017.html <p>8 miles out on the Barrel Roll trail. Not focused on pace or anything, just wanted to get a good longer run under my legs to finish off the week. I felt good and it was good to get back out on that trail. Such a sweet trail! Solid week, bumped up the mileage a little bit from last week. Not too much but it&#39;s gettin&#39; there!</p> Sat, 21 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Oct 20, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-20-2017.html <p>Got off work pretty early so I went up to run with the team again today. .5 mile warm up then ran&nbsp;out toward the Arizona strip with a 2 mile tempo on the way back miles 4 and 5. 6.5 miles total for the day. Averaged 5:40 for the tempo, the guys basically dropped me from the start, haha. Not too fast compared to what I was running in high school but I basically ran the fastest mile since I&#39;ve been back from Chile then ran it again. Also, my last 2 mile tempo run about a month ago I averaged 6:20&nbsp;so there&#39;s definitely some progress there. Good stuff, fun to run with the team.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Fri, 20 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Oct 19, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-19-2017.html <p>4 easy with the team out to baskin robins and back. Good ice cream&nbsp;</p> Thu, 19 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Oct 18, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-18-2017.html <p>Easy 4 on the trails behind Hidden Valley to break in the new trail shoes.</p> Wed, 18 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Oct 17, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-17-2017.html <p>6.5 out in Little Valley after our ward&#39;s PIGnic in the park, haha. Ate some good hawaiian food and caught up with some old neighbors so it was a good time. On the run my calves were pretty tight which caused a bit of lower leg pain. Overall good run. Stretched and rolled out afterward.</p> Tue, 17 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Oct 16, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-16-2017.html <p>Around 4 today with the team. 2.5 mile warm up then 4x400m at 5k pace w/1:00 recovery. It was their last workout before state and I decided to jump in with them. I felt pretty good, I think I could hold that pace for a mile but definitely not 5k right now, haha. I had&nbsp;the opportunity to talk to the team afterward about my experience running at state and I had a good time. Excited for those guys!</p> Mon, 16 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Oct 14, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-14-2017.html <p>Ran with the high school team this morning. About 4 miles with some pick ups. I felt pretty good. I&#39;ll probably get out later for a few more.</p> <p>4 more in the afternoon exploring mustang pass out by green springs.</p> Sat, 14 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Oct 13, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-13-2017.html <p>Another busy day and another night run. 5 easy.</p> Fri, 13 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Oct 12, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-12-2017.html <p>Missed my run yesterday because I slept in and then had some stuff come up during the day. Almost missed my run today for the same reasons but I got out around 8:30 for an easy 6. I felt pretty good but I can tell that I need to start taking better care of my legs with stretching and rolling out and stuff like that as I start to bump up the mileage.</p> Thu, 12 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Oct 10, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-10-2017.html <p>4 in the morning solo. Went to the region meet later to watch the team. Great performances from the team in each race. Brought back some good memories.</p> Tue, 10 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Oct 09, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-09-2017.html <p>6 easy this morning. I ran over to meet up with the team for their morning run&nbsp;then I ran back. I felt good, much better than Saturday. The fitness is coming back so that&#39;s good. My resting heart rate is actually pretty close to what it was before the mission.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 09 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Oct 07, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-07-2017.html <p>Went up this morning to Cedar with my dad to watch some former high school teammates and future collegiate teammates run at the Color Country Invite. It&#39;s crazy to think that I&#39;ll be joining them in a few months. The UVU women&nbsp;won the meet and it looks like they have a pretty solid team. The men ran pretty well and one of their runners actually won the meet. I&#39;m excited to start running with them in January. I got together with Jaiden a little later for my run. We ran about 7.5 out in Little Valley/Washington Fields. I felt alright, but I&#39;ve noticed that my lungs are pretty much tired right from the beginning, and it actually gets a little easier to breath as I keep running. So it&#39;s easier for me to have a conversation in the middle of my run than the beginning. Kinda weird, I don&#39;t remember it being that way before I went on my mission, haha. It was the longest I&#39;ve run since I&#39;ve been back and I felt pretty good so it was a positive run.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 07 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Oct 06, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-06-2017.html <p>Easy 3 in the morning with Coach Powell and some of the guys. Weights later. Lunges and shoulders.</p> Fri, 06 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Oct 05, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-05-2017.html <p>Pretty tired this morning so I just waited until after work to run. Decided to go run with the team. They had a short workout at the Bloomington Hills North Park, I&#39;m guessing around 2 miles for the workout. 5 with warm up and cool down.&nbsp;I felt like I was able to push through the tough parts so that was good. Now I just gotta keep slowly bumping up the mileage to get the conditioning back!</p> Thu, 05 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Oct 04, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-04-2017.html <p>Just 3 this morning, a little tired. Maybe weights later.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 04 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Oct 03, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-03-2017.html <p>3 miles in the morning before work. 4 miles after. I felt really tired during my afternoon run. Probably a combination of weights yesterday, the run this morning, and&nbsp;work. I work in landscaping so I&#39;m pretty much outside all morning and I guess the sun just drained me today. Good stuff though. Getting my conditioning back little by little.</p> Tue, 03 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Oct 02, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-02-2017.html <p>3 in the morning before work. Weights in the afternoon. Squats, then biceps and triceps for the auxilary lifts.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 02 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Sep 30, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-30-2017.html <p>Slept in a little this morning so I didn&#39;t have time to run&nbsp;before the first session of general conference. Got a nice inter-session run in after the morning session. Drove up to the high school to run the ridge behind the high school. Pretty difficult run for me today with the hills and the heat, but overall it was a good run. Weights later with my dad. Deadlifts&nbsp;and shoulders. Good day and some great messages from inspired leaders during general conference.</p> Sat, 30 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Sep 29, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-29-2017.html <p>3 in the morning with Coach Powell and Bryson before work. Drove up to Cedar later to watch the team run at the Cedar Invite. Brought back&nbsp;memories of some good times, haha. Good day.</p> Fri, 29 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Sep 28, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-28-2017.html <p>Ran with the team again today. Easy 4 with 4x200m finishes.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 28 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Sep 27, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-27-2017.html <p>Ran in the morning with Coach Powell and a couple other guys from the team. 3 miles easy.</p> Wed, 27 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Sep 26, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-26-2017.html <p>Busy day, but I got out at around 8:15pm for a nice little night run. 3 miles easy. Head lamp kept falling off my head so I put it around my waste lol. Innovation.</p> Tue, 26 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Sep 23, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-23-2017.html <p>Saturday long run! Haha, really not that long, but twice as long as I&#39;ve run since I got back from Chile! 6 miles with Coach and the varsity girls. He had them do 6 miles with a 2 mile push to finish. I stayed with them for the first half of their 2 mile push but then they roasted me on the last mile! Hahahahaha, it was good to get the legs moving a little quicker. I&#39;m actually surprised with how much fitness I&#39;ve regained in just these last few runs. THE GIRLS TEAM IS SOLID THIS YEAR!!!! Seriously, a bunch of animals! I jogged around for about another mile with Coach afterward.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 23 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Sep 22, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-22-2017.html <p>Got home a little earlier from work today a little before 2 and thought, &quot;Hey, today&#39;s Friday, I bet the team has a race tomorrow and they&#39;re just doing easy mileage today!&quot; So I got in contact with Coach Fielding and he said that they were, so an easy 3 with the old team out to Hidden Valley! It was awesome to get back out there with them.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 22 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Sep 21, 2017 http://kale.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-21-2017.html <p>Worked until a little later today, then I was dead tired from work so I napped in the afternoon, then I went to the Running Center to hear about Hayden Hawks&#39; CCC race. It was pretty sweet! So I got out later to run an easy 3 around 9:00. No problems with the hips today so that was good, but a little tightness in the calves. Again, pretty normal for me, so with rolling and stretching I should be fine!</p> Thu, 21 Sep 2017 06:00:00